svensk tidskrift för musikforskning / swedish journal of music research / stm–sjm

Svensk tidskrift för musikforskning / Swedish Journal of Music Research (STM–SJM) is a peer-reviewed online and in print journal issued by the Swedish Society for Musicology. This new journal is the result of a recent merge of the two journals Svensk tidskrift för musikforskning/STM and STM-Online. It will continue the series of volumes of Svensk tidskrift för musikforskning, one of the oldest continually appearing musicological journals in Europe. STM-SJM is funded by the Swedish Research Council. It is distributed in both electronic (Open Access) and printed format. The version in print collects all the articles from one year in one volume, to be released the year after their continuous electronic publication. The printed volume is distributed exclusively among the members of the Society and the subscribers. 

STM–SJM publishes articles in various fields of music research (music theory, music analysis, aesthetics of music, history of music, artistic research, music education, ethnomusicology, sociology of music, etc.) but aims especially to present research concerned with music in Sweden and the other Nordic countries (Finland, Denmark, Norway, Iceland). We encourage music scholars around the world whose research is related to music in one or more of these countries to submit articles to the journal.

STM–SJM is indexed by RILM, EBSCO and LIBRIS. ISSN: 2002-021X

The copyright to the contributions belongs to the individual authors and the publisher Svenska samfundet för musikforskning (the Swedish Society of Musicology). According to Swedish law, permission from the author is not necessary for any type of quotation in scholarly and scientific writing. It is also permitted to make a copy of separate articles for personal use. It is not, however, permitted to copy the entire database.

Contributions to STM–SJM

If you would like to contribute to STM–SJM, see guidelines for authors. You may also contact one of the editors, Sverker Jullander and Karin Johansson. For articles, STM–SJM will continue the double-blind peer review process adopted by STM and STM-online. Please send your article materials, reviews etc. directly to the editor-in-chief.

STM-SJM: A new platform

In January 2014, the board of the Swedish Society of Musicology decided to merge its two scholarly journals, STM and STM-online into a single publication, whose abbreviated name is STM–SJM.

The merging makes room for an extended editorial staff, as well as two or more numbers per year, thereby making the editorial work with the submitted articles more flexible.

The initial impetus behind the creation of a second journal (STM-online) in 1998 was the development of electronic publishing. The trend towards Open Access as a general principle for scholarly publishing of articles has since made the distinction between print media and electronic media less clear, thereby making the regime with two journals primarily distinguished on technical grounds obsolete.

The Swedish name Svensk tidskrift för musikforskning will be continued for the merged journal. The English name is a literal translation of this, Swedish Journal of Music Research. It reflects the broad spectrum of research for which the journal intends to be a platform of publication.


Sverker Jullander (chief editor, publisher)

Karin Johansson

Sven Bjerstedt 

Editorial Board

Karin Hallgren (Linnæus University, Växjö)

Åsa Bergman (University of Gothenburg)

Sverker Hyltén Cavallius (Swedish Performing Arts Agency)

Henrik Frisk (Royal College of Music, Stockholm)

Monica Lindgren (Academy of Music and Drama, University of Gothenburg)


Advisory Board

Lars Berglund (Uppsala University)

Liora Bresler (University of Illinois)

Darla Crispin (Norwegian Academy of Music)

Petter Dyndahl (Inland Norway University)

Sanne Krogh Groth (Lund University)

Jens Hesselager (University of Copenhagen)

Bruce Johnson (University of Technology Sydney and University of Turku)

Karin Larsson Eriksson (Linnæus University)

Martin Loeser (University of Greifswald)

Susan McClary (Case Western Reserve University)

Gary McPherson (University of Melbourne)

Susanne Rosenberg (Royal College of Music, Stockholm)

Erik Wallrup (Stockholm University)

Ann Werner (Södertörn University)

Stefan Östersjö (Luleå University of Technology)